Aniketh Rajaram makes India proud at the Hong Kong Race Week 2015
Posted on: March 10, 2015.

Author: Sucharita Kamath, mother of Aniketh, Chennai

TNSA Sailors make India proud at the “Hong Kong Race Week 2015″
(February 13th to 17th, Hong Kong)

On the back of its medal sweep in the Optimist Class at the Sail the Gulf Regatta 2015, Tamil Nadu Sailing Association (TNSA) sailors are currently on a roll winning top honors at the Hong Kong Race Week 2015, the second leg of the ASAF Youth Cup. The first leg concluded in December 2014, in Chennai. So much so that Mr. Neil Pryde, former Olympian, founding partner of the group by the same name and special guest invited for the prize distribution, singled out Indian sailors for praise.

Final day of racing on February 17th saw winds starting at 12 knots and rising to over 20 knots by the time the medal race was held. Chitresh Tatha of TNSA sailed superbly to narrow the gap between him and event leader Aniketh Rajaram but Aniketh, a class 9 student of Vidya Mandir Mylapore, held his nerve, despite gear failure in the final medal race, to stave off this challenge. The Medals race was a beautifully tight one with Aniketh leading at the first three mark roundings and then in the last upwind leg, the race was completely turned upside down, which made it very exciting. Aniketh managed to hang on, tactically, and do enough to snatch the top spot. The medal race, conducted after determining the top 10 sailors after 6 races, saw 4 sailors from India make the top 10 with 3 being from TNSA. A couple of TNSA sailors who narrowly missed making the Medal Fleet ensured they bagged top honours in the Gold Fleet with Naveen Kumanan in 1st place and Navyn Prabhakar in 3rd place.

In the Laser Radial, Nethra Kumanan from TNSA kept the Indian flag flying high with a silver medal finish. It is indeed heartening to see 2 girls at the top of the podium in a fleet with majority male participation.

With this, sailors from India lead the ASAF Youth cup in both the Optimist and Laser Radial classes of boats with competition moving to the third leg at Singapore in March 2015 and the Grand Finale at Abu Dhabi in April 2015.

Final Results:

Optimist Medal Fleet
1. Aniketh Rajaram (TNSA, India)
2. Chitresh Tatha (TNSA, India)
3. Nancy Highfield (J Asia, HKG)

Optimist Gold Fleet
1. Naveen Kumanan (TNSA, India)
2. Yu-Lin YANG (TPE)
2. Navyn Prabhakar (TNSA, India)

Laser Radial Fleet
1. Sofia-Marie Mascia (RHKYC, HKG)
2. Nethra Kumanan (TNSA, India)
3. Riley Cameron (J Asia, HKG)

NOTE: To publish your child's achievement here, send us an email to with the subject line "Young Achiever" and with the details and limited number of photos.

Leave a Comment

Disclaimer: The information contained within this website is provided for informational purposes only and is not intended to substitute for obtaining advice from professional experts. The ideas and views expressed here are all from the authors of the content and not from Yokibu. Please seek assistance from professional experts for your specific needs.